Prop firm daily loss limit: how it works
It's the simplest rule on paper and the easiest to breach. A daily loss limit can end an account on a single bad session even when you're up overall. Here's exactly how it works and how to engineer around it.
The daily loss limit caps how much you can lose between session open and close. Hit it and the account is done for the day or, depending on the firm, breached entirely. It exists to filter traders who can't stop in a bad session. Which firms have one, how big it is and whether a breach ends the account differs plan by plan — the 16-firm table below is verified against each firm’s rules card as of September 2026.
Closed P&L vs intraday equity — the silent killer
Two ways firms calculate the daily loss:
- Closed P&L only. Only realised losses count. An unrealised dip you recover doesn't.
- Intraday equity. Floating P&L counts. A deep dip mid-trade can trip the limit before you exit. This is how FTMO measures it — and where many traders get blindsided.
Always check which mode applies to your account; it changes the safe stop distance entirely.
Daily loss limit by prop firm, 40 firms (September 2026)
Eighteen of the forty firms on our rules cards run at least one plan with no daily loss limit at all; the ones that keep it differ on whether a breach pauses the day or ends the account. Plan names matter more than firm names here.
| Firm | Evaluation | Funded | Hard or soft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apex Trader Funding | EOD evaluations: $1,000 on a 50K, pauses the day without ending the account; intraday evaluations: none | Performance Accounts add a tier-based daily limit on both products | soft in the evaluation (the day stops) |
| Topstep | No universal limit on the standard Combine; optional on some configurations | Live Funded Account: a Daily Loss Limit that adjusts with the balance; Express Funded: not stated on the rules card | see the Live Funded rules |
| MyFundedFutures | None on Rapid, Pro, Rapid EOD and the legacy Core and Flex plans; Builder: $1,000 soft daily pause | Same plan terms | soft on Builder |
| Tradeify | Growth: soft breach (the day stops, the account survives); Select V1: none; Select V2 (from 1 Sep 2026): a DLL, $4,000 on the largest size | Select Daily: yes; Select Flex: none; Lightning: by size | soft on Growth |
| Lucid Trading | LucidPro: none on 25K, fixed on 50K and above; LucidFlex: none; LucidDaily: optional at checkout; LucidDirect: not fixed | Same plan terms | fixed dollar amount where it applies |
| Take Profit Trader | None on the Test since January 2025 | PRO: $500 on 25K, scaling with account size | applies on PRO only |
| Alpha Futures | Daily Loss Guard on Zero and Standard; removed on Advanced | Daily Loss Guard on Zero Qualified accounts; none on Advanced | plan-based |
| TradeDay | None on any account, either route (TradeDay 2.0) | None | the trailing drawdown is the only hard-fail rule |
| FundedNext Futures | Verify with firm | Verify with firm | not published clearly |
| Maven Trading | 2% on Three-Step and Instant, 3% on One-Step, 4% on Two-Step, measured on the higher of equity or balance at 00:00 UTC | 4% daily EOD limit on funded accounts | hard breach, equity-based |
| Bulenox | Option 1: none; Option 2: by size, triggered on realized daily loss | Option 2: removed on the Master Account once the drawdown reaches the starting balance | realized P&L only (Option 2) |
| Phidias | None on any account type | None | drawdown only |
| Funded Futures Family | None on any plan | None | the drawdown is the only limit |
| Top One Futures | None on the Elite Access challenge | Reinstated once funded; on most funded programs a breach is a soft pause until the next session | soft on most funded programs |
| FTMO | 5% daily loss on standard accounts; 1-Step Challenge: 3% on the higher of equity or balance | Same on funded | hard breach, intraday equity |
| FundingPips | 5% on 2 Step; 3% on 2 Step Pro, One Step and Zero | Master Account rules mirror the evaluation | hard breach |
| FundedNext (CFD) | 5% on 2-Step (equity-based), 3% on 1-Step, Lite by plan; none on Instant | Carries over from the challenge unchanged | equity-based on 2-Step |
| The5ers | High Stakes 5%; Hyper Growth 3%; Pro Growth 3%; Bootcamp 3–5% by source | Same model | ends the account on High Stakes and Pro Growth; a daily pause on Hyper Growth |
| E8 Markets | Set at purchase on E8 One (4% typical) | Same level carries over | breach ends the account |
| Alpha Capital Group | 3–5% by program; Alpha One 4% on the greater of balance or equity at the start of day | Same; conditions do not tighten after funding | balance-based on Pro 8%, Pro 10% and Swing |
| Blue Guardian | 3% on Instant, 4% on standard challenges, 5% on some One Step and Two Step forex accounts | Same model | measured on the initial balance |
| GOAT Funded Trader | 2-Step 4–5% by source; 1-Step 4%; Instant 3% of the higher of starting balance or equity (5 pm ET); Goat $1 3% | Same programs | — |
| BrightFunded | 5% of initial balance on 2-Step Classic, 3% on 1-Step | Same on every plan | fixed in dollars, higher of balance or equity at the rollover |
| Funded Trading Plus | 4% on 1-Step Express and 2-Step Classic; 6% on Instant Funding | Unchanged or slightly tightened per trackers | balance-based |
| FXIFY | 3% (Lightning, Instant Lite), 4% (2-Phase Standard), 5% (3-Phase, 2-Phase Classic), 8% (Instant Standard) | Same model | some Lightning sizes reported with none |
| Instant Funding | 4% on Instant and GO; none on Evolve or Clarity | Same plans | add-ons change limits |
| FunderPro | 3–5% by plan (5% on Classic and Pro) | Same plans | balance-based, resets 4 pm EST |
| The Trading Pit | CFD: no fixed % disclosed; Prime: Daily Pause; futures track: fixed limits by size | Same limits in the Earning Phase | a pause, not a fail, on Prime |
| City Traders Imperium | 5% on 2-Step; by program elsewhere | By program | — |
| TX3 Funding | 5%, recalculated at 5 pm EST from the end-of-day balance | not stated separately on the card | equity basis |
| Funded Trader Markets | By plan; optional Shield Risk Protocol add-on | By plan | — |
| Ment Funding | 5% of the previous day’s closing balance, resets 5 pm EST | not stated separately on the card | — |
| PipFarm | 3% of the previous end-of-day reference on all challenges | 3% on funded accounts; none on Instant (2% open-risk cap instead) | reference = higher of EOD balance or equity |
| FTUK | 5% on Instant and Two Step, 4% on One Step | Instant SIM (futures): $2,000 on 25K as a temporary daily lock | a lock, not a breach, on Instant SIM |
| Earn2Trade | Fixed by account size, resets each trading day | not stated separately on the card | — |
| Leeloo Trading | By account | By account | — |
| Elite Trader Funding | Diamond Hands tighter than EOD; the EOD plan’s limit described as hard to breach by design | not stated separately on the card | — |
| OneUp Trader | None | None | drawdown only |
| TickTick Trader | 2.5% of starting balance, static ($1,250 on 50K); 3.5% on the 10K Direct Swing; none on Express | S2F+ sells an add-on that removes it | soft on some accounts |
| UProfit | DAY: $1,100 / $2,200 / $3,000 by size, fixed; ONE 50K: none | not stated separately on the card | fixed dollar amount |
Source: Puravida Edge rules cards, 40 futures and CFD prop firms, verified 29 September 2026.
Every row comes from the firm’s rules card, where the full rule set and the verification date sit together. Apex and Tradeify both changed their daily-limit terms in 2026, so confirm the plan you are buying on the firm’s own rules page.
Typical sizes
Where a dollar limit exists it scales with account size: $500 on a Take Profit Trader PRO 25K, $1,000 on an Apex EOD 50K evaluation, $4,000 on the largest Tradeify Select V2 size. CFD firms express it as a percentage, 3–5% of the starting balance at FTMO, FundingPips and Maven. Confirm the exact figure for your plan before deploying.
How traders breach it
- News spikes — one wide bar through your stop and the day's over. Especially on intraday-equity firms.
- Oversizing after a winning streak — the streak masks risk; one normal-sized losing day busts the cap.
- Revenge trading — chasing a loss with bigger size guarantees the limit gets tested.
- Stacked correlated positions — two ‘different' trades that move together double the real risk.
Engineering around it
Treat the daily loss limit as a hard ceiling and back into a per-trade cap:
- Max trades per day × max risk per trade < daily loss limit. Build that arithmetic into the system, not your intentions.
- Auto-flatten and stop trading at a fraction of the cap (e.g. 60–70%) to leave room for slippage.
- On intraday-equity firms, size for the worst intraday drawdown of the position, not just the stop.
- Avoid stacking correlated entries; one position at a time per market.
The Position Size Calculator sizes against your buffer; combine with a daily cap built into the strategy. See also the full taxonomy of drawdown rules and sizing against trailing DD.
To translate a daily loss limit into a maximum contract count for your stop distance, use the daily loss limit calculator.
The rule is the filter. The Playbook shows what fits through it.
Which configurations fit tight daily limits, trailing floors and consistency rules — sized to the drawdown, not the balance. One PDF, then our letters with what the systems did.
By email, from Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. Unsubscribe anytime.
Related
- Strategies sized to these rules: Topstep 50K, Apex 50K, MyFundedFutures 50K, Tradeify 50K, Lucid 50K
- Apex vs Topstep, MyFundedFutures vs Topstep, Apex vs MyFundedFutures: head-to-head, every rule
- The cheapest path to funded: the real cost math
- Prop firm trading taxes: the basics
- How our strategies did last quarter (Q2 2026)
FAQ
What is a prop firm daily loss limit?
A maximum loss allowed within a single trading session. Hit it and the account is halted for the day or breached entirely, even if you're profitable overall.
Does the daily loss limit count unrealised P&L?
It depends on the firm. Some count only closed P&L; others (e.g. FTMO) measure on intraday equity, so a deep unrealised dip can trip the limit before the trade closes.
Which prop firms have no daily loss limit?
As of September 2026: TradeDay, Phidias and Funded Futures Family on every plan; MyFundedFutures Rapid, Pro and Rapid EOD; Bulenox Option 1; LucidFlex; the Take Profit Trader Test; Apex intraday evaluations; the standard Topstep Combine; Alpha Futures Advanced; OneUp Trader on every account; UProfit ONE 50K; TickTick Express; Instant Funding Evolve and Clarity; FundedNext and PipFarm Instant accounts. Several of these still add a limit on the funded stage, so check both columns of the table.
Is a prop firm daily loss limit a hard breach?
Not always. At Apex EOD evaluations, Tradeify Growth, MyFundedFutures Builder and most Top One funded programs a breach pauses trading for the day and the account survives. The5ers Hyper Growth, The Trading Pit Prime and FTUK Instant SIM also pause rather than fail. At FTMO, FundingPips and Maven it is a hard breach measured on intraday equity, and Take Profit Trader PRO enforces a fixed dollar limit.
What is the Topstep daily loss limit?
The standard Trading Combine has no universal daily loss limit; it is optional on some configurations. The Live Funded Account runs a Daily Loss Limit that adjusts with the account balance, per the Topstep Live Funded Account rules.
How do I avoid breaching it?
Bake the cap into your system: max trades per day times max risk per trade must stay well below the limit. Auto-flatten at a fraction of it (say 60–70%) and avoid stacking correlated positions.
Not financial advice. Performance figures referenced are hypothetical, modeled outputs (1,500-path Monte Carlo on a backtest + live sample). Past performance does not guarantee future results. Tool names are referenced for education; verify current features and prop-firm rules directly.