Prop firm scaling plans: Topstep, Apex and MyFundedFutures
Topstep has no ladder in the Combine (5, 10 or 15 minis from day one) but the Express Funded Account starts at $0 and scales by balance: on a 50K, 2 lots, 3 above $1,500, 5 from $2,000, released between sessions. Apex opens the Performance Account at roughly half its cap and unlocks the full tier once the balance clears the starting balance plus the trailing drawdown plus $100. MyFundedFutures depends on the plan. The numbers, milestone by milestone, are below.
A prop firm scaling plan is the ladder between the contract cap you were sold and the size you can actually trade after funding. As of August 2026: Apex funded accounts open at roughly a third of evaluation size (2 of 6 contracts on a 50K), Topstep’s Express Funded Account releases size by current balance, MyFundedFutures Flex unlocks full size at $2,000 of realized profit, Tradeify Select steps up at fixed end-of-day equity triggers, and Alpha Futures applies scaling on Qualified accounts on every plan except Advanced. Firm by firm below, each verified on official documentation.
Scaling plans by firm
| Firm | Mechanic | Example | When it updates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Topstep (Express) | Balance ladder with fixed checkpoints | 50K: 2 lots → 3 above $1,500 of balance → 5 from $2,000. 100K and 150K: open at 2–3 lots on a $0 balance; the full ladder is published as a chart in help.topstep.com article 8284223 | End-of-session report sets the next session's cap |
| Topstep (Live funded) | Dynamic risk expansion, profit-based tiers | — | Per tier |
| Apex | Funded tiers below evaluation caps | 50K: evaluation trades up to 6, Performance Account opens at 2 and tops out at 4; full tier unlocks once balance clears roughly starting + trailing drawdown + $100 (~$52,600) | Next session after the threshold clears |
| Earn2Trade | Progression ladder | 50K: 2 contracts → 6 at ~$2,000 profit | On milestone |
| MyFundedFutures | Pro and Rapid: no scaling plan — full size from day one | — | n/a |
| Lucid (Flex funded) | Contract cap grows with simulated profit | Ceiling reached at the top tier | End of day |
| Tradeify / FundedNext | Fewer scaling restrictions | — | — |
Source: Puravida Edge rules cards, 40 futures and CFD prop firms, verified 29 September 2026.
What is the Topstep scaling plan?
Topstep applies a balance-based scaling plan on the Express Funded Account: your maximum position is set by current account balance, and released size updates between sessions, not mid-session (help.topstep.com article 8284223, Sep 2026; the 50K checkpoints are confirmed by two independent trackers). Position limits remain tied to the plan until well into the live progression. In the Combine itself there is no scaling — the full 5/10/15-mini cap applies from day one, with the 50% best-day consistency cap doing the filtering instead.
Topstep scaling plan by account size (50K / 100K / 150K)
The checkpoints scale with the account, and the shape is the same on each: a low starting cap, small profit thresholds releasing the middle rungs, full size only well above the starting balance.
- 50K: starts at 2 contracts, 3 above roughly $1,500 of profit, the full 5 past roughly $2,000 (help.topstep.com, Aug 2026).
- 100K: the middle account follows the same balance-ladder structure between the 50K and 150K checkpoints — confirm the exact 100K thresholds at help.topstep.com, as Topstep revises them.
- 150K: opens at 3 lots on a $0 balance (the XFA does not start at $150,000, so a threshold near $154,500 belongs to Tradeify Select, not Topstep); the full 150K ladder is published only as a chart in help.topstep.com article 8284223, read it before sizing.
Two things hold at every size: the end-of-session report sets the next session's cap, so a mid-session balance that qualifies releases nothing until tomorrow, and the ladder runs in reverse after a losing day. Size the strategy against the rung you start on.
How does the Apex scaling plan work?
Apex's funded Performance Accounts open below the evaluation caps and scale through balance tiers: on a 50K, the evaluation trades up to 6 contracts, but the PA opens at Tier 1 with 2 and tops out at 4; the 100K and 150K PAs cap at 6 and 9 respectively (consistent independent analyses of the 4.0 lineup, Aug 2026). The practical consequence: a strategy sized against the evaluation cap cannot run at funding without being re-cut — the scaling plan, not the headline number, is the real position limit.
What is MyFundedFutures' scaling plan?
MFF concentrates its scaling in the Flex plan's funded stage: a 50K starts at 2 minis (20 micros) and unlocks the full 5 minis at $2,000 or more of realized profit; Pro and Rapid plans have no scaling phase at all — full size from the first funded day (help.myfundedfutures.com, Aug 2026). That makes the plan choice itself the scaling decision at MFF: Flex trades a slower start for its fixed evaluation drawdown, Pro and Rapid trade model strictness for immediate size.
What is Tradeify's scaling plan?
Tradeify Select funded accounts open below the account's cap and release full size at fixed end-of-day equity triggers: $52,000 on the 50K (4 minis / 40 micros), $103,000 on the 100K (8/80), $154,500 on the 150K (12/120); limits rise the session after the trigger is crossed (help.tradeify.co, Aug 2026). Lightning accounts run the same caps without the funded scaling ladder.
What is Alpha Futures' scaling plan?
Alpha Futures applies a scaling plan on Qualified (funded) accounts across its lineup with one exception: Advanced accounts get the full contract limit at all times, no scaling (help.alpha-futures.com, Aug 2026). Plan-based caps run Zero 1–6 contracts (25–100K), Premium 4–12 and Advanced 5–15 (50–150K), with micros at the standard 10:1.
A July 2026 caveat before relying on any Alpha figure. On July 12, 2026, Alpha announced that NinjaTrader had terminated their agreement effective that day, following the launch of Alpha's own AlphaTrader platform; no new accounts could be issued on NinjaTrader or Tradovate from that date, and existing Zero, Advanced and Direct accounts were migrated to AlphaTrader (Alpha Futures statement, July 12, 2026; TradeInformer, July 13, 2026). The Premium Plan was closed outright, with active accounts refunded automatically. On the pending Premium payouts the record conflicts: Alpha's statement said refunds covered pending payments, while PropFirmMatch — which delisted the firm on July 12 — and later coverage reported that pending payouts beyond the roughly $25 million already paid were not honored (PropFirmMatch, July 13, 2026; MondoTraders, July 20, 2026). The Premium row above describes a plan that no longer exists. Verify Alpha's current lineup and payout standing directly before purchasing anything.
Does Maven Trading have a scaling plan?
Yes, but it's a different animal: Maven runs a forex-style, lot-based account model, and its scaling is a +25% balance increase after 10% profit across four months with at least one payout per month (maventrading.com FAQ, Aug 2026) — an account-growth ladder, not a contract ladder. If you found this page comparing Maven against futures firms, you're comparing two different products.
Scaling plans across 40 firms: who ramps contracts, who scales accounts
Two different things are sold under the word “scaling”. Futures firms ramp contracts on the funded account, usually from a fraction of the evaluation cap, keyed to balance or profit. CFD firms scale the account size and split on profit milestones and sell the full lot size from day one. The two tables separate them; every cell comes from the firm’s rules card, and where the card does not state a ramp it says so.
Futures: contract scaling plans (22 firms)
| Firm | Evaluation cap | Funded ladder | Unlock keyed to | Full cap (50K unless stated) | Applies to |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Topstep | Combine: fixed 5 / 10 / 15, no ladder | XFA starts at $0 balance: 50K opens at 2 lots, 3 above $1,500, 5 from $2,000; 100K and 150K open at 2–3 | balance, released between sessions | 5 / 10 / 15 | Live: Dynamic Live Risk Expansion replaces the plan |
| Apex Trader Funding | Evaluation: full tier (6 on 50K) | PA opens at half tier (2 on 50K), full 4 once the end-of-day balance clears start + drawdown + $100 (Safety Net) | end-of-day balance | 4 (50K PA) | PA only; Rithmic/Tradovate bracket orders mandatory |
| MyFundedFutures | Pro and Rapid: full size from day one (5 on 50K; Rapid EOD 3) | Flex sim-funded: 2 minis on a 50K, full 5 at $2,000 profit | profit | 5 (3 Rapid EOD) | legacy Flex only |
| Tradeify | 4 / 40 flat (post 12 Sep 2025) | none stated | — | 4 (50K) | Not stated on the rules card for funded ramps |
| Lucid Trading | 2 / 4 / 6 / 10 on 25K–150K, full from the first trade | LucidFlex funded starts at 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 and scales to the same ceiling (10 on 150K above $4,500 profit) | simulated profit, end of session | 4 (50K) | Flex only; Pro, Direct, Daily full size |
| Take Profit Trader | 6 / 12 on 50K / 100K | none stated | — | 6 (50K) | Not stated on the rules card |
| TradeDay | 5 / 10 / 15 on 50K / 100K / 150K, 50 micros max | Funded Sim opens at 3 contracts, +1 per $2,000 of EOD profit | EOD profit | 5 / 10 / 15 | both routes |
| Alpha Futures | by plan | scaling plan on Qualified accounts for every plan except Advanced; numbers not published on the card | profit | — | Advanced: full size, locked floor |
| Bulenox | Option 1: 7 / 12 / 15 from day one | Option 2: 50K 2 → 4 above $1,500 → 7 above $4,000; 100K 3 → 5 → 8 → 12; 150K 5 → 8 → 10 → 15 | profit | 7 / 12 / 15 | Option 2 only |
| Phidias | 10 / 14 / 17 on Fundamental and Premium | none; LIVE accounts may request a higher limit in writing | — | 10 / 14 / 17 | Not stated on the rules card for a ramp |
| Top One Futures | by program and size | Elite Daily funded accounts run a scaling plan that restricts contracts until profit builds; thresholds not published on the card | profit | — | Elite Daily |
| Funded Futures Family | Prime Standard 2 / 4 / 6 / 10 or Max 3 / 5 / 10 / 15, chosen at purchase | applies at both stages; Premier+ funded accounts bought from 9 Sep 2026: flat 2 / 4 / 6 / 10, no ramp (earlier 3 / 5 / 10 / 15 ramp) | — | 10 / 15 (150K) | ramp removed on Premier+ 9 Sep 2026 |
| FundedNext Futures | Flex 3 / 5 / 8; Legacy and Rapid 3 / 5 in the challenge | Legacy and Rapid funded get two more minis than the challenge (3 → 5 on 50K, 5 → 7 on 100K); Flex unchanged | stage, not profit | 8 (Flex 150K) | Rapid micros at 5×, Bolt at 3× |
| Earn2Trade | by size | none stated | — | — | Not stated on the rules card |
| Leeloo Trading | by account type | Investor PA: the max contract limit does not expand | — | — | no ramp |
| Elite Trader Funding | restrictive for high-volume strategies (firm’s own review) | none stated | — | — | Not stated on the rules card |
| OneUp Trader | by size | funded rules come from the funding partner | — | — | partner agreement |
| TickTick Trader | by tier | none stated | — | — | Not stated on the rules card; operational status unverified |
| UProfit | DAY: evaluation maximums by size; ONE 50K: 2 E-mini flat | DAY funded limits start below the evaluation maximums and scale with profit; ONE: none | profit | — | DAY only |
CFD: account scale-up ladders (18 firms)
| Firm | Scale-up rule | Ceiling |
|---|---|---|
| FTMO | +25% balance every 4 months when 10% or more in profit over the period; split moves to 90/10 | up to $400,000 exposure per trader |
| FundingPips | Hot Seat: 16 successful reward periods reach a 100% split and $2M | $2M |
| The5ers | account doubles at profit milestones; split 50% → 60% → 80% → 90% → 100% | $4M |
| FundedNext (CFD) | Not stated on the rules card | — |
| Maven Trading | Not stated on the rules card | — |
| E8 Markets | E8 One drawdown widens 1% per payout cycle up to 14%; allocation ladder not stated on the card | — |
| Alpha Capital Group | allocation up to $400,000; Alpha Prime (live funds) after $40,000 in one payout, five payouts from one account or $100,000 lifetime | $400,000 + Alpha Prime |
| Blue Guardian | Not stated on the rules card | — |
| GOAT Funded Trader | Instant accounts double at 10% profit; ladder to $2M with +3% / +4% drawdown and a monthly salary at Levels 3–4 | $2M |
| BrightFunded | +30% account size every 4 months when profitable in 2 of 4 months with 10% total profit | $400,000 initial |
| Funded Trading Plus | profit milestones; 90% and 100% split at 20% and 30% cumulative profit (legacy tier rules) | $2.5M (some sources $5M) |
| FXIFY | Not stated on the rules card | — |
| Instant Funding | Evolve: +25% every 90 days at a 10% target, up to double the starting size | 2× starting size |
| FunderPro | Not stated on the rules card | — |
| The Trading Pit | scaling to €5M with a regulated trader contract in Liechtenstein | €5M |
| City Traders Imperium | split 80% rising to 100% on milestones | $4M |
| TX3 Funding (ex-TopTier) | dynamic plan raising size and split on consistent performance; thresholds not stated | $2M |
| Funded Trader Markets | Not stated on the rules card | — |
| Ment Funding | 90% split through scaling; size ladder not stated | $1M accounts sold |
| PipFarm | XP ranks raise the split 70% → 95% and shorten payout intervals; sizes to $1.5M | $1.5M |
| FTUK | scaling to $6.4M | $6.4M |
Nine futures firms ramp contracts on the funded account (Topstep XFA, Apex PA, MFF Flex, Lucid Flex, TradeDay Funded Sim, Bulenox Option 2, FundedNext Legacy/Rapid, Alpha Futures, UProfit DAY); the rest sell the full cap at both stages or do not publish a ramp. Verified September 2026.
Topstep scaling plan
The Topstep scaling plan applies only to the Express Funded Account. The XFA starts at a $0 balance and the plan sets the maximum position from that balance: on a 50K, 2 lots to begin, 3 once the balance passes $1,500, 5 from $2,000; 100K and 150K accounts open at 2–3 lots. Released size applies from the next session, never mid-session. The Trading Combine has no ladder (5 / 10 / 15 minis from day one) and the Live Funded Account replaces the plan with Dynamic Live Risk Expansion. Full 100K and 150K rungs are published only as a chart on help.topstep.com, article 8284223. Stage-by-stage rules: Combine vs XFA vs Live.
Apex scaling plan
Apex has no ladder in the evaluation (6 contracts on a 50K from day one). The Performance Account opens at half the tier, 2 contracts on a 50K, and releases the full 4 once the end-of-day balance clears the Safety Net: starting balance + trailing drawdown + $100, about $52,600 on a 50K. Since 4.0 (March 2026) the PA also requires bracket orders on Rithmic and Tradovate and a 50% consistency rule at payout. Details: Apex PA payout rules.
Two timing rules matter more than the numbers
The review runs once a day. On a ladder system your end-of-session report sets the limit for the next session. You cannot size up the moment your balance qualifies mid-session — and a strategy that assumes it can will place an oversized order.
The ladder runs in reverse. A losing day can shrink the cap back down. The size you traded yesterday can be a breach today, on the same account, with no rule change. This is the single most common way a scaling plan is violated by someone who read the plan.
The trap nobody mentions: micros count differently by platform
This one is worth reading twice, because it changes your position size by a factor of ten inside the same firm.
On Topstep's own platform micros count 10 to 1 — ten MES equals one ES against your limit. On third-party platforms like Tradovate or NinjaTrader, one micro counts as one full contract. Same firm, same account, same word "5 contracts".
At a 5-contract cap with 10-to-1 counting, 50 micros is fine. At a 5-contract cap with 1-to-1 counting, 50 micros is a tenfold breach. Apex counts every contract one to one, so six MES counts as six — micros buy finer sizing, not more simultaneous contracts. Some products carry special weightings on top of that.
Before you set a position size in code, confirm the counting convention for the exact firm and platform combination you are on.
What this does to a systematic strategy
A fixed-size strategy and a scaling plan are structurally in tension. Your sizing model wants a constant relationship to the drawdown; the scaling plan wants size to be a function of accumulated profit that can also move backwards.
Two workable approaches. Either size for the starting tier and never scale up — simplest, and it means the plan never binds — or make position size an explicit function of the current tier, recalculated once per day at the same time the firm recalculates.
What does not work is sizing for the top tier and hoping. That is a breach waiting for the first losing week.
Our per-tier configurations take the conservative path: sizing is derived from the drawdown limit for the account size, not from the maximum contract count the firm advertises. The arithmetic is in sizing against trailing drawdown and the configurations are on the portfolios page. Related: contract scaling rule violations.
The pattern across firms is consistent: the evaluation sells the ceiling, the funded stage rents it back to you in installments. Before choosing an account, read the funded ladder next to the headline cap — the full per-firm cap table is in futures prop firm max contract limits — and size the strategy against the rung you'll actually start on, not the top of the ladder. If the account uses a trailing floor, how to size against trailing drawdown covers the rest of the math.
See every prop firm rule, grouped by mechanism →
Every Apex rule on one card: Apex rules card →
The rule is the filter. The Playbook shows what fits through it.
Which configurations fit tight daily limits, trailing floors and consistency rules — sized to the drawdown, not the balance. One PDF, then our letters with what the systems did.
By email, from Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. Unsubscribe anytime.
Related
- Strategies sized to these rules: Topstep 50K, Apex 50K, MyFundedFutures 50K, Tradeify 50K, Lucid 50K
- Apex vs Topstep, MyFundedFutures vs Topstep, Apex vs MyFundedFutures: head-to-head, every rule
- What is ATR? Average True Range for stops and sizing
- Contract scaling rules: the violation nobody plans for
- Futures prop firm max contract limits compared (2026)
The milestone numbers: when the full cap unlocks
| Firm | 50K | 100K | 150K | Rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apex | PA opens at 2, full 4 above ~$52,600 | Opens at ~half, full above ~$103,100 | Opens at ~half, full above ~$155,100 | Start + drawdown + $100 |
| Topstep | 5 minis from day one (no scaling ladder on standard Combine) | 10 | 15 | Cap is flat; consistency target is the constraint instead |
| MyFundedFutures | Rapid EOD: 3 mini / 30 micro flat; others 5 | 10 | 15 | Plan-based; Rapid EOD does not scale |
| Tradeify | 4 minis | 8 | 12 | Plan-based ladder on some plans |
| Alpha Futures | Scaling on Qualified accounts, all plans except Advanced | — | — | Verify current plan terms |
Apex is the only major firm where the milestone is a published formula: the full tier unlocks once the balance clears the starting balance plus the trailing drawdown plus $100. On a 50K account with a $2,500 drawdown that is $52,600. Until then a strategy sized to four contracts has two.
FAQ
Does Topstep have a scaling plan?
Yes, on the Express Funded Account only: the XFA starts at a $0 balance and a 50K opens at 2 lots, 3 above $1,500, 5 from $2,000, released between sessions. The Combine has a fixed cap and the Live account uses Dynamic Live Risk Expansion.
How does the Apex scaling plan work?
The Performance Account opens at half the contract tier (2 on a 50K) and unlocks the full tier (4) once the end-of-day balance clears the Safety Net of starting balance + drawdown + $100. The evaluation has no ladder.
Which prop firms have no scaling plan?
Among futures firms, Tradeify, Take Profit Trader and Phidias sell a flat cap at both stages; Funded Futures Family removed the Premier+ ramp on 9 September 2026; Topstep’s Combine and Apex’s evaluation have none, their funded accounts do. CFD firms do not ramp contracts at all; they scale account size on milestones.
What is a prop firm scaling plan?
A rule that limits how many contracts you can trade based on accumulated profit. You start below the advertised maximum and unlock more capacity as the balance grows. If the balance falls back, the cap usually falls with it.
What is the Topstep scaling plan?
Topstep Express Funded accounts use a balance ladder. A 50K account starts around 2 contracts, rises to 3 above roughly $1,500 in profit and 5 past roughly $2,000; a 150K opens at 3 lots on a $0 balance and climbs the balance ladder published in the help center. Limits are set by the end-of-session report and apply to the next session. Live Funded accounts use dynamic risk expansion instead.
How does Apex scaling work?
Apex starts you at half your funded contract maximum. Full size unlocks the session after your balance clears a threshold, roughly the starting balance plus the trailing drawdown amount plus a small buffer. On a 50K account that lands near $52,600 for the full contract count.
Do micro contracts count the same everywhere?
No, and this catches people out. On Topstep's own platform ten micros count as one contract; on Tradovate or NinjaTrader one micro counts as one full contract. Apex counts every contract one to one. Confirm the convention for your firm and platform before setting position size.
Which firms have no scaling plan?
MyFundedFutures Pro and Rapid plans give full contract size from day one. Tradeify and FundedNext apply fewer scaling restrictions than the ladder-based firms. Rules change often, so verify before purchase.
Verified August 2026. Prop firm rules change often and several firms rewrote their rulebooks in 2026. Confirm every figure on the firm's official site before purchasing an evaluation.
Performance figures are a combination of live-tracked and modeled results. Past performance does not guarantee future results. Not financial advice.
Performance figures are a combination of live-tracked and modeled results. Past performance does not guarantee future results. Not financial advice.